Safety Inspections of Vehicles in Texas

Texas vehicle inspectionsVehicles registered in Texas are required to pass annual inspections to ensure that they meet the state’s safety standards.

Texas Vehicle Inspection Requirements

The Texas Department of Motor Vehicles sends out annual vehicle registration renewal notices and car owners have 90 days to complete the inspection and registration process. New state residents have 30 days after moving to get a vehicle inspected and registered. To ensure that your vehicle is operating safely, the state of Texas requires that the following systems are inspected:

  • Wheels and tires
  • Steering mechanism
  • Window tinting or coating
  • Mirrors, horn, and seat belts
  • Windshield wipers, brakes, and exhaust system
  • Headlights, stop lights, warning lights, and turn signals

After the inspection, you’ll receive a Vehicle Inspection Report. If your vehicle passes inspection, the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles will be notified. You won’t receive a sticker, since Texas now uses a single sticker for both vehicle safety inspections and registration. If your vehicle fails the inspection, you’ll receive instructions regarding the necessary repairs. Your vehicle can be inspected again for free if you make the needed repairs and return for another test within 15 days.

Collision With a Vehicle That Has an Expired Inspection

If you’re involved in an accident with a vehicle that has an expired inspection sticker, that vehicle’s condition could impact the value of your claim. An expired inspection sticker, in and of itself, is generally irrelevant in an accident. However, if there was something wrong with the vehicle that would cause it to fail a safety inspection, and if that defect contributed to the accident, the expired inspection sticker may become relevant. If the owner of the vehicle failed to renew the inspection due to a defect that resulted in the collision, that may be sufficient evidence to establish his negligence.

You Need an Attorney

If you’ve been injured in a vehicle accident with a car that hasn’t passed inspection, you need an experienced attorney to help you prove your case. To learn more about protecting your rights, contact the Cain Law Firm by using the form on this page.