According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), vehicle accidents are one of the primary causes of death among children in the United States. Thirty-five percent of the children ages 12 and younger who died in a crash in 2015 were not buckled up. Many of these tragic deaths were easily preventable through the use of proper child restraints. That’s why the state of Texas mandates the usage of child safety seats.
Keep Your Child Safe
While Texas only requires child safety seats for children under 8 years of age, the state recommends the following:
- Infants. Infants should use a rear-facing car seat as long as possible, until he has outgrown the height or weight limits of the seat. The child should never use a forward-facing seat until he has met all age, height, and weight requirements established by the seat manufacturer.
- 1-4 years. Once the child has outgrown the rear-facing car seat, he should use a forward-facing car seat for as long as possible. This seat should be properly installed in the back seat, and he should continue to use it up to the height or weight limit of the harnesses.
- 4-12 years. After the child has reached the age of four and a weight of at least forty pounds, he may ride in a booster seat, which works in conjunction with your car's lap and shoulder belt. Once the child has reached a height at which the car’s shoulder belt fits properly, he no longer needs the booster seat. The lap belt should be worn low over the hips, and the shoulder belt should cross the center of the shoulder and chest.
You Need an Attorney
If your child has been injured in a vehicle accident, you need professional representation. Contact the Cain Law Firm to schedule a free, no-obligation case evaluation.